Join our mailing list

Strong in Joy

Worship with the Calvin University Gospel Choir and the Calvin University Worship Apprentices

This service will premiere on Friday, May 7, 2021 at 8:00pm EST. Watch it on YouTube to join in the conversation in the live comments as it premieres. 

We are deeply grateful for the generosity of each person who supports our music students, making possible learning and outreach opportunities that extend far beyond campus. We invite you to join this chorus of supporters by making an on-line contribution to the Calvin Choir and Community Fund listed on this website.

Make a donation


Nate Glasper, director
Lisa Sung, music director/piano
Joe Wilkins, keyboard
Denny Tawas, bass
Eron Lauchié, drums
Sam Fynewever, cello

Pastor Paul Ryan, liturgist
Dr. Michelle Loyd-Paige, preacher

Order of Worship

Call to Worship

Isaiah 12

Pastor Paul Ryan

To Our God

Text and Music: Judith Christie McAllister © 2006 Judah Music, Light Records
Used by permission. CCLI #400063.

Soloist: Chardonnay Henderson

Call to Confession

1 John 1:8-9

Nikita Hutanto

Give Me a Clean Heart

Text and Music: Margaret J. Douroux © 1970 Earl Pleasant Publishing; arr. Albert Dennis Tessier and Nolan Williams Jr. © 2000 GIA Publications, Inc.
All rights reserved. A-703303.

Soloist: Kenneth Henderson 

Words of Assurance

Psalm 30:1-5, 11-12

Hadassa Ribeiro

Jesus, at the Mention of Your Name

Text and Music: Donnie McKlurkin © 1996 Warner Alliance
Used by permission. CCLI #40003.

Soloist: Kenneth Henderson

Prayer for Illumination

Pastor Paul Ryan

Old Testament Lesson

Nehemiah 8:5-11

Anne Vogelzang

 New Testament Lesson

John 17:9-13

Sam Fynewever


Dr. Michelle Loyd-Paige

You Are My Strength with Worship Medley

Text and Music: Reuben Morgan © 2007 Hillsong Music Publishing, admin. by Capitol CMG Publishing
Used by permission. CCLI #400063.

Text and Music: Nate Glasper Jr.
Used by permission. 

Soloists: Nate Glasper Jr., Brigid Lally, and Aviva Philip


Pastor Paul Ryan

‘Til We Meet Again

Text and Music: Kirk Franklin © 1993 Lilly Mack Music, admin. Capitol CMG Publishing
Used by permission. CCLI #400063.