Join our mailing list

Frederick Douglass Jazz Works

A free and open to the public Jazz Experience with Ruth Naomi Floyd. Not able to livestream.


Thursday, July 13, 2023 from 7:00PM to 9:00PM (EDT)


Calvin University Chapel
1845 Knollcrest Circle Southeast
Grand Rapids, Michigan

This new body of work includes original compositions paired with the actual words from the speeches and writings of this powerful, timeless luminary. Illustrated through the art form of jazz improvisational music, the Frederick Douglass Jazz Works illuminates the themes of tragedy, grief, despair, and injustice of American slavery through the multi-faceted prism of hope, joy, perseverance, and triumph - all with Frederick Douglass’ own words.

Ruth Naomi Floyd, composer, vocals & flute
James Weidman, piano
Keith Loftis, saxophones
Matthew Parrish, double bass
Mark Prince, drums
V. Shayne Frederick, orator & vocals

This concert is free and open to the public.