Join our mailing list

Vital Worship Grants Advisory Board

The Advisory Board consists of liturgical leaders and scholars from a variety of backgrounds.

Board members read grant proposals and rank them according to criteria such as merit and potential, broad participation, and appropriateness of budget. The board meets at Calvin University to discuss and evaluate the merits of each proposal and make recommendations for funding.

Current members: 

James Abbington, Associate Professor of Music and Worship, Candler School of Theology, Emory University, Atlanta, Georgia

Kimberly Belcher, Assistant Professor of Liturgical Studies, University of Notre Dame, South Bend, Indiana

C. Michael Hawn, Professor of Church Music Emeritus, Perkins School of Theology, Southern Methodist University, Dallas, Texas

William H. Johnston, Associate Professor, Department of Religious Studies, University of Dayton, Dayton, Ohio

Duane Kelderman, Pastor and Pastoral Consultant to churches and church-related organizations

Janice McLean-FarrellDirk Romeyn Assistant Professor of Metro-Urban Ministry, New Brunswick Theological Seminary, New Brunswick, New Jersey

Leopoldo A. Sánchez M., Professor of Hispanic Ministries, Concordia Seminary, St. Louis, Missouri

Lisa M. WeaverAssistant Professor of Worship, Columbia Theological Seminary, Decatur, Georgia